Return to Headlines

LaPorte County Career & Tech Ed Student, Counselor Honored

2018 Award for Excellence

Michigan City, IN -- February 28, 2018 -- A LaPorte County Career and Technical Education (CTE) student and an area guidance counselor have been honored with Indiana’s highest award for CTE, the “Award for Excellence.”


Westville High School senior Jacob Parkman was selected as one of 21 distinguished CTE students from across Indiana honored at the 2018 Awards for Excellence recognition program, which took place at the Indiana Government Complex in Indianapolis on February 8. South Central Jr./Sr. High School Counselor Tina Randall was one of only two counselors in the state honored at the event, for her ongoing efforts in support of CTE programs.


Jacob Parkman is a second-year student in the Welding Technology program based at the A. K. Smith Career Center in Michigan City. He is an honor student at Westville High School who has been active in many extracurricular activities, including volleyball and basketball. He enrolled in the Welding program at A. K. Smith to hone skills he uses on his family’s farm. “From day one, Jake has shown he is a fast learner,” says Welding instructor Ray Goss. “He is not only advanced academically, but when it comes to the hands-on projects, he excels and is a grading period ahead.”


Tina Randall has been instrumental in the development of Career and Technical Education options for students at South Central Jr./Sr. High School. In her role as the school’s guidance counselor, she has established Career Fairs, brought in speakers to help students explore career options, and taken students on field trips to both the A. K. Smith Center and at the post-secondary level. “Christine is an enthusiastic, organized individual who provides students with individual attention to help them determine their pathway, and then monitors their progress to ensure they complete it,” says South Central Superintendent Linda Wiltfong. “Through innovative partnerships and virtual learning options, she has helped us dramatically increase the numbers of our students who benefit from CTE.”


“We’re thrilled that LaPorte County Career and Technical Education had two winners among the state honorees this year,” said Audra Peterson, Director of the LaPorte County CTE program. “Jake is on a clear path for success, thanks to his dedication to academics and his passion for Welding, and Tina is having an impact on the future success of hundreds of students each year in our county.”


The Awards for Excellence program is sponsored by the Indiana Association of CTE Districts, in partnership with the Indiana Department of Education. The February 8 awards program featured a keynote address by Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick, along with words from IACTED President Steve Shaw and IDOE Chief of Workforce and STEM Alliances Amanda McCammon.