Return to Headlines

CTE Awards Presented

  CTE Inductees 2017

New members of the LaPorte County Career and Technical Education Technical Honor Society.


The LaPorte County Career and Technical Education program at the A.K. Smith Career Center in Michigan City held its 2017 Awards Program on Wednesday, May 3. During the program, returning members of the Technical Honor Society received a tassel to be worn at their high school graduations, and new students were inducted. Several students were also honored with scholarships and awards.

The purpose of the Technical Honor Society is to honor and recognize students who participate in the study of technology and who achieve excellence in their chosen Career and Technical Field. These students demonstrate that technical education is a viable, practical, and challenging educational path.

The May 3 ceremony, led by Director of Career and Technical Education Audra Peterson, featured four guest speakers, who each addressed a pillar of the society. They included:

Excellence – O’Merrial Buchee, Director, Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation and Entrepreneurship Center, Ivy Tech Community College

Character –  Marty Corley, Detective, Michigan City Police Department, and MCAS School Board Member

Technology – Kevin McGuire, Director of Technology, MCAS

Work Ethic – Justin Kiel, Publisher, Regional News and Westville Indicator, and President of the LaCrosse Town Council

The following 38 students were inducted into the Society, representing six area high schools. The schools include Lacrosse High School (LCHS), LaPorte High School (LPHS), Michigan City High School (MCHS), New Prairie High School (NPHS), South Central High School (SCHS), Westville High School (WVHS).

Automotive Technology

Dylan Sharp (LCHS), Jordan Leaner (MCHS), Bruce VanWanzeele (NPHS)

Construction Technology

Conner Conklin (MCHS), Myia Havis (MCHS), Zachary Decker (NPHS), Jacob Wells (NPHS)         


Isabeau Davis (LPHS), Angelica Barth (MCHS), Hayley Meyers (WVHS)        

Criminal Justice

Mariam Davis (MCHS), Cailyn Harrison (MCHS), Shane Burns (NPHS), Sawyer Laffoon (NPHS), Barbara Stanish (NPHS)

Culinary Arts

Kayli Caudill (MCHS)

Early Childhood Education

Hailey Aubin (LPHS), Emily Lachiewicz (LPHS), Tiffany Arndt (LPHS), Heather Carter (LPHS)


Garrett Kubaszyk (LPHS)

Energy Academy      

Brandon Kiel (LCHS), Logan Goolsby (MCHS), Gerald Randle (MCHS), Dylan Bradburn (NPHS)

Health Careers Academy

Kayla Peo (LPHS), Alexis Dickey (MCHS), Hannah Esmeyer (MCHS), La'Navia Jackson (MCHS), Korbin Williams (MCHS), Amelia Kessler (SCHS), Kennedy Selman (SCHS), Sara Wood (SCHS), Shannon Bhullar (LPHS), Thalia Garcia (LPHS), Celia Ruiz (LPHS)

Modern Machine Technology        

Ameer Hoskins (MCHS)


Mandy Cannan (MCHS)     

The students listed above joined the following students who were inducted to the CTE Technology Honor Society last school year: Raymond Alexander (LPHS), Andrew Boes (LPHS), Devin Higginbotham (MCHS), Charles J. Hawkins (SCHS), Nicholas Bertolan (NPHS), Hunter Hagedorn (NPHS), Ciera Triplett  (MCHS), Mailen Flores-Gil (LPHS), Rian Coleman (MCHS), Bryana Sanders (NPHS), Alexis Biggers (MCHS), Ryan Kiel (LCHS), Haley Mulder (LPHS), Jarrett Black (LPHS), Pauline Lutton (MCHS), Nathan Spangler (MCHS), Brittoni Stone (LPHS), Lezly Davis (MCHS), Atalia Hardin (MCHS), Joey Walker, Jr. (MCHS), Cole Seifert (MCHS), and Jean'Cyr McCully (MCHS)

Each of the CTE programs at A. K. Smith also recognized an Outstanding Student of the Year. They included:

Modern Machine Technology: Cole Seifert

Automotive Technology: Cody Downs

Construction Technology (AK Smith): Charles Hawkins

Construction Technology (NPHS): Nicholas Bertolan

Cosmetology I: Hayley Meyers

Cosmetology II: Dominique Hurt

Criminal Justice and Law: Barbara Stanish

Culinary Arts: Haley Cencelewski

Early Childhood Education: Heather Carter

EMT: Ryan Kiel

Energy Academy: Pauline Lutton

Facility Maintenance: Mykel Williams

Fire Safety and Rescue: Azayah Hunter

Health Careers Academy I: Kennedy Selman                   

Health Careers Academy II: Thalia Garcia

Welding Technology: Tyler Shireman


Each year a student representative from each high school is selected as the Outstanding Student of the Year for La Porte County Career and Technical Education. This year’s recipients were:

LaCrosse High School - Dylan Sharp                                                                                 

La Porte High School - Mailen Flores-Gil

Michigan City High School - Pauline Lutton

South Central High School - Lane Geer

New Prairie High School - Barbara Stanish                                    

Westville High School - Cody Combs


Other students receiving special recognition included:

·       2017 Jim Wallace Memorial Award – Kayli Caudill

·       Brad Cohen Award – Lezly Davis

·       Tej Ram Gupta Scholarship - Da’Calvin Oliver, Alexis Biggers, Jean’Cyr McCully

·       Work Ethic Certificates – Kayli Caudill, Isabeau Davis, Lezly Davis, Atallia Hardin, Devin Higginbotham


Outstanding Students

One Outstanding Career and Technical Education student from each county high school was honored as Student of the Year during the May 3 CTE Awards. (L-R) Barbara Stanish, NPHS; Pauline Lutton, MCHS; Lane Geer, SCHS; Dylan Sharp, LCHS; Mailen Flores-Gil, LPHS; Cody Combs, WVHS