Return to Headlines

CTE Students Honored

CTE Inductees   

The LaPorte County Career and Technical Education program at the A.K. Smith Career Center in Michigan City held its 2016 Awards Program on Wednesday, May 11. During the program, returning members of the Technical Honor Society received a tassel to be worn at their high school graduations, and new students were inducted. Several students were also honored with scholarships and awards.


The purpose of the Technical Honor Society is to honor and recognize students who participate in the study of technology and who achieve excellence in their chosen Career and Technical Field. These students demonstrate that technical education is a viable, practical, and challenging educational path.


The 2016 Technical Honor Society inductees (and their respective high schools) included:


Modern Machine Technology

Cole Seifert, MCHS


Automotive Technology

Chance Allen, LPHS

Andrew Boes, LPHS

Devin Higginbotham, MCHS


Construction Technology                                     

Nicholas Bertolan, NPHS                                  

Hunter Hagedorn, NPHS                                       

Charles J Hawkins, SCHS                                 

Myles Jageman, LPHS                            



Autavia Anderson, MCHS                   

Ana Garcia, LPHS

Lacisha Raggs, LPHS  

Miranda Schultz, LPHS

Cierra Triplett, MCHS

Zariah Pegues, MCHS

Emilee White, SCHS   


Criminal Justice

Rian Coleman, MCHS                             

Hayley Shankland, NPHS

Bryana Sanders, NPHS

Elizabeth Young, LPHS


Culinary Arts

Mailen Flores-Gil, LPHS                            

Kandace Hart, MCHS


Early Childhood Education

Alexis Biggers, MCHS

Kayla Villeneuve, NPHS

Miranda Green, LCHS                                                                     


Energy Academy

Jarrett Black, LPHS

Pauline Lutton, MCHS

Eric McClintock, WVHS

Nathan McDaniel, MCHS

Nathan Spangler, MCHS


Fire Science and Rescue

Raymond Alexander, LPHS                                 

Ryan Kiel, LCHS                          

Kyle Mace, LPHS                        

Charles Frankie Thomas III, WVHS                  


Health Careers Academy

Ezekiela Arce, MCHS

Lezly Davis, MCHS                                

Atallia Hardin, MCHS

Haley Mulder, LPHS

Brittoni Stone, LPHS

Joey Walker, Jr., MCHS



Cody Fagley, MCHS

Jean’Cyr McCully, MCHS

Tylor Williams, MCHS

Stone Zabel, SCHS


Returning members of the Technical Honor Society included:

Victoria Armstrong, MCHS; Christopher Anderson, MCHS; Brittany Bookout, MCHS; Evian Chambes, MCHS; Mertees Corley, MCHS; Chloe Criswell, SCHS; Dustin Curl, NPHS; Chantay Drake, MCHS; Kaila Ewing, MCHS; Tatum Fritch, LCHS; Madison Haney, MCHS; Jesse Kinney, MCHS; Karly Kohout, SCHS; Azia Lewis, MCHS; William Malecki, LCHS; Spencer Padgett, NPHS; Nicholas Picotte, NPHS; Alejandra Ramos-Romero, MCHS; Emily Rowe, NPHS; Lizeth Salgado-Ferrer, NPHS; Abigail Schoonaert, MCHS; Abigail Smith, MCHS; Eric Yergeau, NPHS; Grant Zila, NPHS


Each of the CTE programs at A. K. Smith also recognized an Outstanding Student of the Year. They included:

Modern Machine Technology: Ameer Hoskins, MCHS          

Automotive Technology: Chance Allen, LPHS

Construction Technology (AK Smith): Scottaries Orzech, MCHS

Construction Technology (NPHS): Spencer Padgett, NPHS

Cosmetology: Cierra Triplett, MCHS                

Criminal Justice and Law: Keanna Askew, MCHS

Culinary Arts: Madison Haney, MCHS    

Early Childhood Education: Ariel Knight, SCHS                  

Energy Academy: Eric McClintock, WVHS        

Facility Maintenance: Koty Battleday, MCHS

Fire Safety and Rescue: Ryan Kiel, LCHS

Health Careers Academy I: Lezly Davis, MCHS                                                 

Health Careers Academy II: Ezekiela Arce, MCHS    

JAG: Loren Crawford, MCHS         

Welding Technology: William Malecki, LCHS             

Each year a student representative from each high school is selected as the Outstanding Student of the Year for La Porte County Career and Technical Education. This year’s recipients were:

LaCrosse High School - Tatum Fritch                                           

La Porte High School - Elizabeth Young

Michigan City High School - Ezekiela Arce

South Central High School - Natalie Huber

New Prairie High School - Lizeth Salgado-Ferrer and Morgan Wagner

Westville High School - Charles Frankie Thomas III


Other students receiving special recognition included:

·        2016 Jim Wallace Memorial Award - Stanley Henderson

·        Brad Cohen Award - Jesse Kinney

·        Tej Ram Gupta Scholarship - Stanley Henderson, Ariel Knight, and Quinn Monroe

·        Ivy Tech Scholarship Awards - Stanley Henderson, Evian Chambers, Kennedy Sensing, Lizeth Salgado-Ferrer, Sydney Stevens, Makia Hawthorne, Tatum Fritch, Ariel Knight

·       Kenneth  Patterson Memorial Scholarship - Ron Bough